Healthy Fudge- Your way

-This fudge recipe is adapted from Honey Mama’s Nectar Fudge

It is actually kind of interesting. Christy, the owner of Honey Mama’s, is my neighbor. She is super nice and seriously has a passion for this stuff. She sells to stores in Portland, and is expanding to Washington! She even ships… its a dream. And, you know the video, Honey Mama’s: Redefining Fudge, on her about page? I directed and edited it! She was awesome to work with. Anyways, you have to try her fudge. My imitation is good, but who can refuse fudge made with an old family recipe made by a wonderful woman, in a cute package?

Where my fudge diverges from hers is the accents. I have developed a spice and a fruit version, in addition to the original.

1-22

As you can see, this fudge is like none other you most likely would have ever tried. It has no evaporated milk, butter, or sugar, well, apart from the honey (a much better alternative). It is also refreshing on a hot summer day.

1-photo 33

In the version above, I added raspberries from the garden. They add a tartness that goes well with the chocolate. After being in the freezer for a while though (I know, how awesome- this fudge does not have to be baked!) the raspberries freeze as well. Be sure to put the fudge in the fridge as soon as it sets.

The other version has a cozy spice flavor. There are spices such as cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves, that give it an almost Thanksgiving-y feel. Yes, Thanksgiving-y. The beauty of it though, is that you can choose; berries or spice. Mint or Coconut shavings. Almonds or Walnuts or Hazelnuts. Or, make them all… like I did!

Recipe for a small plate of fudge:

1/2 cup of non-melted coconut oil (I think subbing this for another would NOT work- the coconut oil solidifies and is basically the whole form)

1/8 cup clover honey (Any honey would work, but thick is better. I used a thick blackberry honey.)

1/2 tbs. vanilla extract

1-2 tbs. cocoa powder (Mine was Freia baking cocoa powder)

1/8 tsp. sea salt

Additional optional ingredients:

a small handful of cut raspberries

or

1/2 tsp. mint extract

or

1/8 cup chopped nuts (Almonds are the best!)

or

1/8 tsp. (each) ground cloves, ground nutmeg, ani seeds, and 1 tsp. cinnamon

To make the fudge:

Mix all of the ingredients in a bowl, smoothing the oil clumps. Add any extra ingredients that suit your fancy. Don’t be scared to mix and match!

1-photo 44

Now, place parchment paper on a plate or in a bowl, for a thicker fudge. Pour the fudge onto the paper and let it cool in the freezer.

1-photo 55

For an alternative, more classy form of fudge, I poured some left over chopped almonds into the bottom of a measuring cup, then poured fudge on top, filling the cup. Then, into the fridge it went! I want to try using molds next time I make these. You can also sprinkle cocoa powder over the top for a nice look. When the fudge has stiffened, you can get it out of the cup by pouring hot water over the cup to melt the oil. Then, tap the top, and an upside-down fudge-thing apears!

1-33

There! How easy was that? I made so much… The freezer is literally brimming with fudge. But, I had to test the flavors, right? That’s my excuse anyways. Beware, this fudge melts relatively fast, so eat it quickly, which I can assure you is no problem. For me at least…

Please comment with your ideas on different fudge additives/versions! I would love the suggestions!

4 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on Paleo with cream and commented:
    As a six year old I was expert at making chocolate fudge that was the best I have ever tasted. Yes, I am a show off! But, of course it was full of sugar; cups and cups of it. Going primal, well my fudge is no longer an option, so when I came across this recipe – wow!

    Like

    Reply

    1. That is impressive! I am only a teenager myself, but I know the value of a healthy snack. Please check out Christy’s fudge, it is to die for, and is really healthy!
      Thanks for the feedback, -R

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

